Lydia was dozing, the warmth of the fire prevailing throughout the room until the door opened and a draft burst upon them. She shifted, curling up so that her own body minimised it’s exposure to outside air.

“Has anybody seen Lydia this morning?”

Her ears pricked up at the mention of her name, and she stopped dozing with quite so much effort, and listened into the conversation.

“Not as of yet, I suspect she’s still asleep.”

“Where does she sleep?”

“I don’t know, I’m afraid. I can try and circulate a message if you want?”

“My sister is requesting her presence, if she would be so kind.”

Lydia uncurled herself ad stretched out, her claws tapping against the hard wooden beam in the rafters. It was luxurious to stretch ones back out like this, right from the nose to the tail.

She jumped down from the rafters, landing lightly on all four paws, before looking up at the two men who had been talking, and transforming back into her human form.

“Good morning Valerion.”

“Lydia.” He nodded his head towards her. “I thought your shifting form was that of a wolf, not a cat?”

“I can shift into any mammal. Well, most mammals at least. That includes everything from wolves, to dogs, horses down to cats and mice. I often sleep in the form of a cat.”

“May I ask why?”

Lydia gave him a wry smile. “We’re very short on bed space here, and more refugees are coming in everyday. By sleeping as a cat, I can find any comfortable spot on the floor, or rafters, for my bed. Just a little thing I can do to help. Did you say Arabella was asking for me?”

He nodded, and held the door open for her. “This might sounds strange, but I think your suit the form of a cat.”

“Thank you.”

