“What does a bracelet have to do with any of this? That’s what I really don’t understand.”

“Is it valuable?”

“Not really. It’s not gold, silver or any other precious metal. I think it’s brass, which is really not something you would, well, send government agents over. If that’s what they are.”

“Do you know who they are?”

“Of course Gates, do you want to come to dinner? Of course I have no idea who they are, I just ran.”

“No need to get snarky with me, I was just asking.”

Kelly clenched her hands and then released them, resisting the urge to punch him. “Yeah. Just asking. That’s all anyone seems to do these days. Ask. Question after question after question. Do I have any of the answers? Of course I don’t. All I know is that I go on holiday, find this bracelet in a tiny little shop, think it’s cool, buy it, and now all this shit.” She waved her hands round in circles, emphasising everything.

“Don’t get mad at me, get mad at the peopel chasing you!”

“Well they aren’t here and you are, so who else am I going to yell at?”

Gates stood up from where he had been sitting on a dead log. “I think, that you need some coffee.”

“Gates I can’t just walk into a store and get some coffee. Those little things called camera’s? They’ll be onto me before I can even buy the stuff.”

“I didn’t mean in town. Come on, I know a diner. Real quiet, filled with biker types. No one there is going to rat on you.”

She crossed her arms and looked at him. “Sure about that?”

“Sure. They’re my boys, they won’t rat on me, and to them you’ll just be another girl I’m hooking with.”

Kelly rolled her eyes. “Because that makes me feel so much better about everything.” But she did accept the helmet that he passed her, and did up her jacket as the motobike roared into life and she settled on the back, wrapping her arms around him and parying that the diner would be free of questions, and well supplied with coffee.

 

