A quick side note: Now that I’m taking writing seriously, one of the things the I’ve been told you should do is build your online presence. Which is harder than it looks. I’ve now set up twitter, tumblr, good reads, a blogspot blog whose sole purpose is to link to this blog, a facebook like page, and I’m sure that I’m missing something! So many new login and password details to remember x.x But apparently it will help, so I’m just going to roll with it. And let cookies remember all my passwords for me.

Day 6! This is all about conflict. What does your character want and why can’t they get it? There are three main types of conflict: internal conflict where your character wants two different things and has to fight themselves to decide what they want to do; other people conflict, where your character doesn’t get along with someone else; or social conflict, where your character hates society and possibly the world at large.

Today’s exercise is to describe a ritual you have, something you do more or less at the same time in more or less the same order. Now imagine a break in that routine. Imagine the chain of events that might develop from there. Then imagine you meet the person who caused the disruption to your day, what might happen then? This exercise is good for looking at how small events can produce big emotional conflict.

My routine: Right, this is my daily routine when I log into my computer on a week day: First of all, I log in, then I bring up the internet and at the moment the first thing I check is Rightmove (a property website as I am looking to move in about a month’s time), I then check facebook, my blog, and sometimes move onto tumblr and twitter and other sites that I think I should check. I check my favourite blogs for new posts, and then I settle down into writing a blog post for the day. After that, I move onto my creative projects, which at the moment include writing/editing my novel and learning HTML5 & CSS3 to create websites with.

The interruption actually happened about 3 weeks ago – there was a power cut. A major one, that meant we had problems all weekend, and then on Monday everything died, just straight up died for a good two/three hours.

I didn’t like it. I’m a product of the newer generation, so the fact that I couldn’t use my desktop because the power was out made me antsy, I felt disconnected and my foot started tapping relentlessly (my tablet was elsewhere otherwise I would have been using it). I got more and more irritated, but not enough that I showed how irritated I was getting at the lack of digital media. I went and found a book, and started reading, and that calmed me down. Although I love the digital age, there is something about turning the paper pages of a book that is instantly calming.

In the real world, we simply waited until the power came back on, but by that time I had lost out on a whole three hours that I could have been working on my novel or my website, and I was a little bit cheesed off to say the least. Also I had been dealing with students who were also annoyed that the power was out, and several of them had lost work that they had been working on, and so were getting annoyed at me, as the only adult figure around. It’s that harsh lesson that you have to learn in regularly backing up your work, in case of circumstances like that.

I never found out what caused the power cut, so this is where the story part starts.

What causes power outages? Well for the longer lasting one it’s using that something got tripped or broke. So one of the important power lines was cut, or someone drove into a transformer that just happened to be the wrong one. Considering this exercise requires you to meet the person who caused it, let’s say that someone drove into a power line and toppled it.

If I then met this person, it would depend on what situation I met them in. Considering I’ve already suffered from three hours of not having a desktop, and the wrath of students, I wouldn’t be the first on scene, so I would be meeting them later.

Honestly? I would be tempted to punch them. Also because driving is one of the most dangerous things that we commonly do and accidents like that can be deadly to people. And having been driven to extreme irritation already today, I would have less self control than I usually do. Being a very visible member of staff in a common area means that I attract all sorts of questions from the students, especially when things go wrong, and I don’t know about you, but I hate having to answer the same question over and over and over, make me feel like a parrot. This would be especially true if they had been drunk/high/on their phone because doing any of those whilst driving is a huge idiot stamp on your forehead.

It would be an internal struggle: get out my irritated feelings or be a good girl and not punch him. Either way I think I would have some sharp words with whoever it was, for careless driving. It’s sort of the middle ground – get some of the aggression out, but don’t actually break anyone’s nose.

