I am talking about both the series of books and the film here.

First, the series of books:

How_to_Train_Your_Dragon_(2003_book_cover)

This is about the tale of Hiccup, a weedy viking, struggling to try to prove himself just as good as viking as the other burly boys, with his other weedy friend, Fishlegs. The first book covers the boys catching and taming their first dragon, since in this book dragons are like hunting pets and companions, and although they come in a lot of different varieties, Hiccup somehow manages to end up with a runt, with no teeth. Hence the dragon’s name Toothless.

Here’s the blurb for the books as a series:

Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III was a truly extraordinary Viking Hero. Warrior chieftain, awesome sword-fighter and amateur naturalist, he was known throughout Vikingdom as ‘the Dragon Whisperer’, on account of his amazing power over these terrifying beasts, but it wasn’t always like that.

There are 11 books in the current series, with the twelfth and last on its way. I have very much enjoyed this series of book, because although they are aimed at children, they are very well written, the setting in incredibly well thought out, and there are quite a few twists and turns in the books that make me wonder ‘Is everything going to be all right?’. I won’t say too much more about them in case I spoiler anything for anyone, but I have very much enjoyed them. Also I love a book where the dragons aren’t the bad guys. Well, at least all the time.

Second, the move by the same name:

how-to-train-your-dragon1

Now, there are several big differences between the movie and the book series. About the only thing they do have in common is Hiccup, the main character, is a weedy kid. Practically everything else is different, as because of this, the film is also totally amazing. And you don’t need to read the books to understand the movie, or vice versa, which is also amazing. I think I love the movie and the books so much because they have basically nothing in common, which is unusual for a book turned film, but something that I appreciate the people who made the film for all that more.

In the film, dragon are terrors, terrorizing the viking village of Berk, and the viking have to fight them off and deal with them stealing sheep and setting buildings in fire. Toothless is also bigger, much bigger and the story focuses around Hiccup and Toothless and their growing bond and the realisation that dragons aren’t all that bad.

It is totally amazing, and I can’t wait for the second movie to come out this June. The posters for it are already up in the cinema and I’ve seen the trailer like a hundred times.

There is a TV series, spanning the gap between the first and second movies, but I haven’t been able to find it to watch it yet, since the DVD’s aren’t out in this country quite yet (I have it set up so that amazon emails me the second they come into stock), but I bet it is just as good as the movie’s and books.

So if you fancy giving either of these a go, I would heartily recommend both of them, movies and books. In fact, I think I might just go and watch the movie myself 🙂

