So, didn’t post as much on here as I would have liked to have done during November, but this is because I was too busy writing my novel for NaNoWriMo.

Guess what? I won NaNo, with a word count of over 85K

Guess else what? I actually FINISHED the novel!

So now I have this novel sitting here, and I’m thinking to myself, what do I do now? I mean, I’ve never gotten to this stage before. I have an actual novel. Of course it’s a first draft and needs a fair bit of work, so I believe I now have to move onto that mythical stage called ‘editing’. Immediately I panicked and bought some books which might give me some advice on this part, and one of my big Christmas wants this year will be more books on fiction crafting/advice. Having read some of those books, I am now less panicked, but it is a big new and scary thing. The last time I actually finished a novel, start to finish, was when I was fourteen and I never looked at it again. I can say now, it’s probably a load of tripe, although I am tempted to go and find it and then count how many times I cringe whilst reading it.

But yes, it’s scary, and new, but I am actually really excited about it. Of course I am doing the sensible things and haven’t even looked at it in the past week or more to distance myself in readiness for the harsh task of editing, but I think whilst I am home over Christmas I will need a hefty project to distract me.

Found out something interesting about myself, I did the Myers-Briggs type indicator test and found that I am ENFP. Very creative, but often scatty. Sounds about right. One of the problems they have is that they are much more about the start of a project and new ideas and often find it hard to follow through. This is my new task, to prove to myself that I can follow through. Maybe one day this book I’ve just written will get published, maybe it won’t, but that’s my current goal – to get it to the point where I can send it to agents and see if it’s good enough for printing.

I am having sushi tonight. If I remember, I shall do another post on sushi and why it is great.

