Ashley stretched out her arms and yawned. It wasn’t even particularly late in the day, she just felt sleepy. She let her flump back onto the sofa only to hit her back against something harder than she expected.

Looking up she saw that Dante was sitting on the sofa as well. He raised his hands defensively.

“Don’t beat me up, you fell onto me. I wasn’t expecting you to do that.”

Ashley looked at him with one eyebrow raised. “You really think I would ‘beat you up’ for something that wasn’t your fault?”

Dante looked down at her. “I choose to not answer on the basis that I think that question is a trap.”

“Good call.” Ashley yawned again, and then snuggled into his side.

“Huh?”

“Well if you’re sitting there anyway, you might as well make yourself useful as a pillow.” Ashley said, closing her eyes.

She felt Dante freeze for a minute, before slowly bringing his arms round her and shifting into a more comfortable position, every move taken as if he were about to set a bomb off.

After a few minutes of silence, Dante broke it. “How is this time any different from last time I tried to give you a hug? You almost took my arm off that time.”

“Not anything which would be an appreciable difference.”

“What?”

“Last time I didn’t feel like being hugged. This time I want a hug.”

“You make absolutely no sense.”

“Thank you.”

