Christian’s mouth dropped open in shock. “You’re, part of the conclave? But they’re murdered and assassins, and all sorts of unsavoury types!”

“No! Well, not our section. We’re just thieves.” She twisted a strand of hair around her finger and got quieter. “I mean some of the other sections do other…stuff…but we’re just thieves. We don’t hurt people…”

“You lied to me! You said you were just an orphan!”

“I am an orphan!”

“You said you were helping people!”

“I do help people, just not in the way in which you interpretated that sentence when I said it1”

“What other lies have you told me? Huh?”

“Well…” Lara grimaced as she fidgeted with her hair again.

Christian threw his hands to his face, aghast. “I can’t believe this, my father is going to be furious, I’ve been hanging out with a thief. I’ve been…” the colour drained from his face. “Oh no, oh no. No no no no no.” He turned to Lara, his face distraught, and slightly angry. “You’ve been hanging out with me to get into the palace haven’t you. This is just so that you can steal from us! What better place to steal from than the palace!”

“No! I’ve been hanging out with you because I like you! That’s not a lie!”

“That’s just another lie, how could I ever believe what you said again!”

“I really, really wasn’t. The other’s don’t even know you’re the prince, they just think you’re an ordinary boy! I lied to you so that you wouldn’t think I was a bad person!”

“Too late for that now!”

