“If wishes were fishes beggar’s would ride.”

“Where does that saying come from?”

“I don’t know, but it is entirely appropriate for this situation.”

“All I said was I wish the castle hadn’t been destroyed. One wish!” Lydia frowned at Alexander.

“Do you really wish that? If the castle had never been attacked, and thus destroyed, then you never would have fallen off the wall, and thus would never had had your first shift, and thus would never have become a shifter, and thus never have met us.” He grinned at her, teasing her.

“I know I wouldn’t have fallen off the wall. And I don’t mean about the whole falling off the wall thing. Becoming a shifter was a very good thing, and anyway it would have happened some other way. It’s a part of who I am, the wall was just the catalyst. But no, I still wish the castle hadn’t been destroyed. It was a lovely place, and had a great history. I am still saddened by its destruction.”

“Wishes don’t get us anywhere.”

Lydia sighed. “I know. But you’re missing the point of the conversation.”

“Am I?”

Alexander could be infuriating sometimes.

