40. Apologize (21/02/11)

Meg did not want to enter that room. But fuck it, she was going in, to tell her mother once again, to stop get out of her life. She thought she’d done it plainly enough on the docks, but apparently not.

With a hearty sigh, she pushed open the door, announcing her entrance into the room with a bang. “What the hell do you want Maysa?”

At that moment, the look on Maysa’s face was priceless. Meg had forgotten quite how much her face had changed in the twelve years she had been away. She probably should have remembered that it would be quite a shock to these guys.

Maysa was stuttering incoherently at her. Internally it amused Meg, but not she kept the scowl on her face.

“Well if you don’t want anything, I’m leaving.” And she turned to do so.

“No!” Maysa managed to shout out. “No, I just, well.” She cleared her throat. “We need you Megan. We need fire to come back with us, you should know why.”

Megan’s mouth twitched.

“I apologize, but that’s just not going to happen.”

At this point Rodrick stepped in. “Megan, it doesn’t matter what you’ve done up til this point, you can still come back with us. You have to help us, we can’t do it without you.”

She sighed. “You really don’t get it do you. Most importantly, I don’t care about any of that that stuff anymore. I walked away from everything twelve years ago, and that still stands. And secondly, fire doesn’t live here anymore, I actually can’t help you.”

“What do you mean, you’re fire.”

Megan shrugged. “I keep telling you, I walked away from all that. And when I did I didn’t need that power anymore. So I traded it away.” She turned around and walked through the door. “So yeah, sorry, but you’re going to have to look elsewhere for the answer to your problem. Don’t come near me again.”

