15. Commitment (02/02/10)

Lara watched from the sidelines as Christian talked with his father, holding their sleeping son on his lap. He was still getting used to the fact that he actually had a son, although considering he hadn’t known for eight years, it was understandable.

Eventually King Richard left them to it, spotting Lara as he came through the tree-line. “Oh, Lara. How long have you been there?”

“Awhile.” She looked back at the pair of boys. “They look good together, don’t they?”

“They do.” He agreed, “You gave us a great gift, I thought that I’d never get a grandchild.”

He looked at the women who had given them, and the kingdom so much. “You could have stayed. You would have had to give up thievery, but you could have stayed.”

Lara looked at him. “I know. But I like the way I live. And I’m not kind of girl who’s able to make a commitment like that. It’s better like this. Besides, I think it would have given Moran a heart attack.” She laughed at herself, and then turned back to her own tent, “Night.”

He waved a response, and turned back to look at his descendants. “Not able to commit?” He paused, thinking the statement over, “I don’t think I can believe that.”

